Limestone University Professor Dr. Virginia Rackley Scates Honored With Excellence In Teaching Award

Charles Wyatt
Virginia Scates 2022

Limestone University’s Dr. Virginia Rackley Scates was recognized as the South Carolina Independent Colleges & Universities honored 21 campus faculty leaders at the Excellence In Teaching Awards Dinner held on Tuesday, April 5, at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center.

Scates was named as the 2022 Excellence In Teaching Award winner from Limestone.

“Dr. Scates is the type of faculty member who is willing to go to the ends of the earth to help and guide our students,” said Limestone University President Dr. Darrell Parker. “She is the perfect role model for future educators. She exemplifies qualities that every educator should strive to have. We are truly fortunate to have her as a part of the Limestone family.”

Serving Limestone as assistant professor of elementary education, Scates holds an Ed.D. in curriculum and instruction from Gardner-Webb University, an M.Ed. in early childhood education from Converse University, and a B.S. in elementary education, early childhood education, and special education from Lander University.

A member of Limestone’s faculty since 2018, Scates’ leadership positions include Chair of the Education and Kinesiology department, Coordinator of the elementary education program, and Director of the Teacher Leadership M.Ed. Program. She is involved on campus as part of the Global Experience, Teacher Education Program, and Graduate Studies committees.

A 20-year National Board-certified teacher, Scates continues to be active in Cherokee County schools, the South Carolina Department of Education, and on the national level as she collaborates with National Board-certified teachers, practicing teachers, and various education stakeholders.

Limestone recognized Scates’ contributions with the 2021 Fullerton Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award. Prior to joining the Limestone faculty, her recognitions included Cherokee County District Teacher of the Year, Reading Association Teacher of the Year, and she is a five-time recipient of the Donor’s Choose Grant.

“We at the SCICU were excited to return to our in-person awards dinner for the Excellence In Teaching Program,” said Jeff Perez, SCICU President and CEO. “We enjoyed celebrating the achievements of the faculty award winners who provide an education that is second-to-none and inspire their students to become leaders in their professions and communities.”

This marks the 17th year of the SCICU Excellence In Teaching Awards program. Each year, the SCICU member colleges and universities use rigorous criteria to select a faculty member to receive the SCICU Excellence In Teaching Award. The winners receive a framed award certificate and a $3,000 professional development grant from the SCICU.