Cherokee County Proclaims July 1 As "Limestone University Day"

Thursday, June 25, 2020 - 9:00am
County Council Limestone University Day

Cherokee County Council presented a proclamation to Limestone College President Dr. Darrell Parker at its meeting on Monday, June 22, recognizing Wednesday, July 1, 2020, as "Limestone University Day."

The institution, founded in 1845, officially changes its name to Limestone University on July 1.

Pictured here are (left to right) Councilman David Smith (District 6), Councilman Lyman Dawkins, III (District 1), Councilman and Vice-Chairman Quay Little (District 3), Dr. Parker, Councilman Tracy A. McDaniel (District 7), and Councilman Michael Alan Fowlkes (District 2). County Council Chairman Timothy F. Spencer (District 4) and Councilman Charles T. Mathis (District 5) were unable to attend the meeting in person.

(Photo by Limestone College Department of Communications & Marketing)